In the last month, there is plenty for Arizona to be proud of:

Congratulations to our very own Meg Howell for being awarded the National Federation of High Schools Section 7 Speech, Debate, and Theater Educator of the Year award.  Section 7 represents Arizona, Utah, Nevada, California, and Hawaii.  Meg was our state award winner and was selected from among the Section state winners for the Section award.  Congratulation Meg!

Hamilton High School won the International Public Policy Forum World Championship, sponsored by the Bickle and Brewer Foundation.  The contest started off with case submissions, featured a few rounds of online debates, and finished with face-to-face debates in New York City, defeating Hathaway Brown High School from Ohio in the final.

Our National Qualifier tournament selected the best of Arizona to represent us in Overland Park, Kansas this summer.  Thirteen schools will represent Arizona.  In addition, Carlos Ochoa from Brophy becomes Arizona’s first 4-time qualifier.  Congratulations!

Arizona’s state tournaments were contested in Mid-March.  Brophy College Prep won the Division 1 Sweepstakes, and Catalina Foothills High School won Division 2.  Congratulations to all who attended!

Upcoming, we have the Debate and Individual Events Tournaments of Champions in late April and early May, followed by Nationals in June. Keep it up Arizona!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s