ASDCA Middle School State Tournament

Congratulations to Phoenix Country Day School who won the ASDCA Middle School State Sweepstakes championship. Scottsdale Preparatory Academy was the runner-up team. The Arizona students of the future got a wonderful taste of what awaits them in high school. Thank you to treasurer John Wolnisty for his continued organization and support of this tournament.

2016-2017 Speech, Debate, and Theater Calendar

Arizona Interscholastic Association
State Speech and Debate Advisory Committee
2016-2017 Sanctioned Events Calendar


August 13 – AZ Thespians Convention
August 20 – Arizona Speech and Debate Coaches Association Coaches Convention – Brophy College Prep
August 27 – New Coaches Workshop – TBD
September 7 – AIASSDAC Meeting – AIA Office
September 17 – Southwest Speech and Debate Institute Practice Tournament – Horizon HS
September 24 – Prep School Congress – Scottsdale Prep Academy
October 7-8 – Lost Dutchman – Red Mountain HS
October 21-22 – Jim Fountain Classic – McClintock HS
November 11-12 – Toro Country Classic – Mountain View HS
November 18-19 – Dobson Invitational – Dobson HS
November 18-19 – Arizona Thespians State Festival – Phoenix Convention Center
December 2-3 – ASDCA Winter Trophy –                Division 1 –

Division 2 – Greenway


January 5-7 – ASU Southwest Championships – Arizona State University
January 13-14 – Prep School Tournament – Chandler Prep Academy
January 18 – AIASSDAC Meeting – AIA Office
January 21 – Grand Canyon University Speech Tournament – GCU
January 21 – Southern Arizona Acting Festival – University of Arizona
January 28 – Northern Arizona Acting Festival – TBD
January 28 – Central Arizona Acting Festival – TBA
February 10-11 – Bobcat Bonanza – Central HS
February 18 – State One-Act Play Festival – TBD
February 25 – National Speech and Debate Association Congress Qualifier Tournament – GCU
March 3-4 – SWSDI Tournament – Hamilton HS
March 17-18 – AIA State Tournament – Division 1 – ASU

Division 2 – Paradise Valley HS
March 24-25 – NSDA National Qualifier – Phoenix Country Day School
April 19 – AIASSDAC Meeting – AIA Office

TOC Final Round Qualifiers

UK Tournament of Champions

Congressional Debate


Congratulations to the following students who will compete in the final round tomorrow.  The round will start shortly after the Awards ceremony at the Campbell House tomorrow:

XAE Wettach

XKZ Seabrooks

XGY Hedayatnia

ACP Osaba

XGR Estel

XMR Wainer

XJC Kumar

ACX Bevard

XCR Kleinle

AGP Love


XBK Hunschofsky


The following students will serve as Presiding Officers:


ADS Gordon

ALH Kannegieter

XAE Fadool


Would the following judges report to the Mason Headley room tomorrow by 10:30


Tracy Harrington

William Fritz

Harry Yu

Linda Dolan

Deborah Nicholls

Kathryn Stewart

Veneta Gilchrist

Nick Klemp

Jeff Harkleroad

Chris Harrow

Jay Stubbs